Disciple or apostle for my religious beliefs

I have been a Catholic (I hope a practicing Catholic) since I entered Kuang-chi or Xavier School in 1959 (grade 4). I was a member of the Our Lady of Sodality in Xavier School until my graduation from high school in 1966. I even had attempted to become a Jesuit priest right after my graduation (but was told to come back after one year)[I decided to enter the University of the Philippines to pursue a medical course or career in 1966.]

I now have a Catholic family – a more devout Catholic wife than I am, with a Catholic son educated in Xavier and Ateneo and with a Catholic daughter educated in Poveda.

As a Catholic family, we have been subscribing to the preaching and teaching of the Catholic Church.

Several years back, I tried to read the entire Bible but failed to complete this project. I wanted to be a more complete disciple, not really aiming to be an apostle.

As defined, a disciple is one who is a student or pupil of Jesus Christ.  He is a person who is constantly learning what it means to be a pupil of Jesus Christ. An apostle, on the other hand, is one who preaches the teachings of Jesus Christ to other people.  

Although the “Great Commission” is depicted in Matthew 28:16–20:

Now the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain to which Jesus had directed them. And when they saw him they worshiped him, but some doubted. And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

this commission is strictly speaking for the apostles and the subsequent priests and nuns of the Catholic Church who came after the apostles of Jesus Christ.

After failing to complete my project of reading the entire Holy Bible several years back, I have continued to read Bible passages in installment, starting with the one with a calendar cum Bible passages such as the 365 Days with the Lord. Of course, I also have continued to be exposed to the Bible passages during the Holy Eucharistic celebrations.

ROJoson’s Bible Reading and Quotes

ROJoson’s Bible Reading

I have made regular Bible reading a habit since long time ago.  I cannot remember when I started.  Definitely, years ago.  Before there was no consistent regular interval such as daily or weekly.  For the past 5 years at least (circa 2012), I read the 365 Days with the Lord given to me yearly by friends and patients.

I still intend to become a more complete disciple at least of Jesus Christ by reading the entire Bible. January 2021, I heard of my Xavier School classmate, George Fong, having read the entire Bible during the whole year of 2020. My interest to read the entire Bible is rekindled. Will try again this year (not yet too late to start for the year 2021 – it is just January 7, 2021).

When I started becoming active in Facebook in June 2011, as my part of Thoughts, Perceptions, Opinions and Recommendations and part of my Living Life in the Context of Health programs, I have posted religious items.

I have posted Bible Reading Quotes as early as 2017.

https://rojosonnotesonlife.wordpress.com/category/bible-reading/page/2/

I have posted the Bible Verse for the Week every Monday for the past 2 years (2018). My UPCM Classmate Necta Fellizar gave me a bunch (about 42) Bible Verses in July 2018 which I read, reflect and post in Facebook, a verse a week.

https://www.facebook.com/rjoson2001/posts/10155398767375800

Lately, I have been posting on the Holy Rosary and its mysteries.

Here is the history of my rosary praying.

Holy Rosary – History, Progress and Resolutions – ROJoson

I will continue these practices in social media not only to reinforce my being a disciple of Jesus Christ (because by posting I am learning in the process) but hopefully, I can also be an apostle somehow, somehow, somehow (I will be contented with a small impact in making disciples of Jesus Christ).

Some links:

Bible Reading – ROJoson’s Slice of Happiness, Contentment, and Enjoyment

ROJ@21jan7

This entry was posted in Bible Reading, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment