History of my left flank back pain – 2002 to 2023

Updated: January 5, 2024

My long-standing left flank back pain started as early as 2002 (about 20 years ago) when I strained my back after starting an outboard for my rubber boat in Anilao. The acute pain resolved after 2 months. However, it kept on recurring as I continued to start my outboard.

After I disposed my outboard, there was lingering on and off left flank pain which I attributed to osteoarthritis already.

This on and off left-sided back pain continued up to 2020. At times, I would think I have bone metastasis from a prostate cancer as one of my Xavier School classmates had the same symptoms – flank pain – worked up – prostatic cancer with bone spread. However, I dismissed this diagnosis because the pain has been on and off and not progressive.

July 2020, I decided to avoid prolong sitting. I would do stand-up computering. Lo and behold, the flank pain disappeared for more than 2 years.

September 2022, the pain came back but this occurred only whenever I would rise up from a lying down position in the morning (after a night sleep of about 5-6 hours). I observed and analyzed. I then decided to put an extra pillow under my back when I went to sleep (aside from a pillow under my head). I could sleep in different positions, either right or left side and flat on my back. Lo and behold, after one week, the pain gradually lessened and then completely disappeared.

January 4, 2023, it is now about 4 months that I don’t have this left-flank pain anymore whenever I would rise up from my bed.

This is the story of my long-standing flank pain almost 22 years. This was managed by myself with watchful waiting and with rest, change in lifestyle, and change is sleeping habit (basically with a pillow under my back). I remember I took mefenamic acid only 3 times – around 2002. No x-ray. No MRI. Just watchful waiting with analysis.

I accept I have a certain degree of osteoarthritis. I am hanging on with daily stretching-flexing exercise, no prolong sitting and proper cushioning for my body when I assume a prolonged position. NO medications.



Update: February 2023

I had a recurrence of severe left back or flank pain again on the 2nd week of February. The severe pain lasted for a few days but the pain lingered on for about a week. I did not take any pain killer. Just a combination of rest on the back; avoided sitting for a long time; stretching and flexing exercise (constantly experimenting what stretching or flexing exercise would relieve the pain. I think it was more of a strain and spasm. I would have pain when I shifted from sitting to standing. I usually would have NO pain when I am in standing position. As of February 25, 2023, the pain has subsided.

Will continue to be vigilant against strain and prolonged sitting.



Update: March 14, 2023

No problem with back pain for a month now. Quite certain – it is due to strain – wrong position – etc.- part of osteoarthritis.


Update: October 25, 2023

Had recurrence of severe left flank pain. I guessed strain from wrong sitting position. I tried some walking and stretching and flexing exercise despite the pain. I did stand-up computering. In the night, the pain was still there and was severe when I rose up from bed. I decided to take one tab of Paracetamol at 2 am. The pain decreased in the morning. In the afternoon, the pain was practically gone. Diagnosis: strain from wrong or prolonged sitting position.

Side note:

Had severe knee pain in March 01, 2023.

Made a post in Facebook

23mar01 – Had a Left knee pain this morning. Decided to have my morning walk of 3 km. pain reduced after walk. Pain disappeared after 2 days without meds.

March 13, 2023, evening, 1150 pm, after rising from chair (after my massage on my wife), experienced severe pain on left knee. Took one tab of mefenamic before going to bed.

March 14, 2023, still had the left knee pain. Took another tab of mefenamic as I had to go to Manila Doctors Hospital to hold clinic. Noted swelling on the left knee – will observe.

Most likely, osteoarthritis. Or the peanuts that I am indulging in. Will stop eating too much peanut and observe.

March 15, 2023 810 pm

Pain markedly decreased, pain score 1 to 0.

This morning, I made a slow 1.5 km walk in the village. Mild pain only.

No pain killer for today.



Update: January 5, 2024

No recurrence of left flank pain since October 25, 2023. (2 months in remission)


This entry was posted in Flank Pain, Medical Records, ROJoson's Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment